Gorillas in Congo

Written by Valentina Romano

The Democratic Republic of the Congo—also known as DRC or Congo—is a country located in Central Africa. Most people are not aware that the Democratic Republic of the Congo is not the same as the Republic of Congo, which is a nation located on the northern borders of the DRC.

Salonga 6

Congo borders the Central African Republic, South Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Zambia, Angola, the Atlantic Ocean, and, as mentioned before, the Republic of Congo.


You are probably wondering how a country could border 9 states and one ocean! Well the DRC can, as it is the second largest country in Africa by area, and the eleventh largest in the world.

a tagbonobos26n-3-web

The UNESCO selected five natural sites located in the DRC, to protect an safeguard under the World Heritage Sites’ List: Garamba National Park (under UNESCO since 1980), Kahuzi-Biega National Park (1980), Okapi Wildlife Reserve (1996),

View original post 394 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s